From the Executive Director

Nominations are now being accepted for the upcoming election of the next 2 members of the SBE Board of Directors. As you may remember, we need to elect two board members—one to take on the 2023–2028 position, the other to take on the 2024–2029 position. One elected candidates will serve as an at-large Board member starting January 2024, the Secretary from August 2024 to 2025, the Program Chair from 2025 to 2026 (i.e., for the 2026 Annual Conference), the President from 2026 to 2027, and the Immediate Past President from 2027 to 2028. The other will begin their term at next year's Chicago meeting and serve through 2029. Details of the Board’s responsibilities are established in Articles III and IV of the Society’s bylaws. Current SBE members are invited to submit nominations (including self-nominations) via email to the Executive Director of the Society (Andy Gustafson) at Nominations will be accepted through October 1st.

Please save the date for next year's SBE conference, to be held at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Downtown Chicago on Wacker Drive August 8–11. Tae Wan Kim, next year's Conference Program Chair, hopes to have a call for papers sent out in October.   

Andrew Gustafson, Ph.D. (phil.)
Professor of Business Ethics and Society & Executive Director of the Society of Business Ethics
Heider College of Business, Creighton University


From the Program Chair

Where was the place to be in 2023 to learn about:
  • The problems with “DEI Inc.” and the promise of diversity, equity, and inclusion?
  • Theories of whistleblowing and the true story of a corporate whistleblower?
  • The role of business in war and peace?
  • Technological problems and technosolutionism?
  • The opinions of professors on whether professors should share their opinions?
  • And much more?
The answer is anywhere, as long as you were online or in-person for the first hybrid Society of Business Ethics Annual Conference! We are grateful to everyone who made the meeting a success for scholars, near, far, emerging, and established, including presenters, reviewers, volunteers, judges, awardees, mentors, and participants. We had the highest number of submissions in recent memory and a program packed with fascinating presentations delivered in prose, poetry, and song. SBE’s DEI Committee is surveying online participants to learn from our hybrid pilot to inform our future plans.
Christopher Wong Michaelson
Opus Distinguished Professor of Principled Leadership, University of St. Thomas


2024 Annual Meeting: August 8–11, Chicago

Come join us in Chicago in 2024 at the Royal Sonesta downtown for our annual conference! Given the excellent conference we had this year in Boston, we expect to have many interesting, lively and informative presentations and discussions! Put it on your calendar—we will be putting out a call for papers mid-October.

Tae Wan Kim is the Conference Program Chair for 2024.



BEQ, published by Cambridge University Press, is the official journal of the Society for Business Ethics.



Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Update

As the SBE Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee prepares to start a new year of activities, we have some news to share with the community:
We would like to thank Mihailis Diamantis for his excellent service as Chair this past year. Mihailis has worked tirelessly to establish and to guide the DEIC, and many of our current and future initiatives will continue to reflect his leadership. Rita Mota and Florian Krause are stepping in as Co-Chairs for this academic year.
Membership Changes
We would also like to thank César González Cantón for his work in the DEIC last year, and to welcome Lauren S. Kaufmann to the DEIC team.
DEI Annual Theme
In 2023-24, we will focus on linguistic diversity and inclusivity in the field of business ethics. We believe that this is a very important, yet frequently overlooked, aspect of DEI. We will announce an inaugural activity to kickstart our efforts, so stay tuned!
Stories of #Inclusion
Throughout last year, we have featured three SBE members in our Stories of #Inclusion: Alejo Sison, Obaid Amjad, and Shazia Khan. We will continue this initiative, focusing on linguistic diversity; please let us know if you would like to be featured!
Let us know what you think!

Please feel free to get in touch with us if you have any ideas, comments, or questions. You can use, or reach out to one of us directly.


Junior Scholars Network Update

The outgoing Junior Scholars Network (JSN) Organising Committee (Chiara, Tobi and Miguel) would like to invite junior scholars to a social online event next Thursday 28th of September 8pm CEST(*). Besides getting to see each other and network, we will make a brief summary of the activities the JSN undertook this year and present the elections for the new JSN Organising Committee. We hope to see you there!
*The link to the event will be available on the JSN LinkedIn group.
Oluwatobi A. Ogunmokun (Chester Business School) –
Chiara Andreoli (Copenhagen Business School) –
Miguel Velasco López (CUNEF University) –


  • The Notre Dame Deloitte Center for Ethical Leadership has relaunched its newsletter. DETAILS
  • Onna Malou van den Broek (University of Exeter) is organizing an interdisciplinary reading group on corporations as political actors. DETAILS
  • Jeff McMahan will deliver the third Thomas W. Dunfee Distinguished Lecture in Business Ethics on 26 October at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. DETAILS
  • Gregory Robson and Jonathan Tsou published "Technology Ethics: A Philosophical Introduction and Readings." DETAILS
  • Chris MacDonald and Alexei Marcoux are pleased to announce the publication of a new “Open Educational Resource,” namely the Pressbook version of their popular Concise Encyclopedia of Business Ethics. DETAILS


Copyright © 2023 Society for Business Ethics, all rights reserved.